The power of the Social Web

One of this size unprecedented campaign of Greenpeace shows, What political and economic influence, the Social Web has become and how far the transformation of the selected power has progressed to the power of the Internet. The eco-activists succeeded in the past two months, 250 000 to mobilize people against the controversial use of palm oil in Nestlé products. 1,5 Million Internet users clicked on a video, the relationship between the chocolate bar “Kitkat” and the destruction of the rain forest shows. 2000 Consumers were tweeting their demands to the food group. This has never been seen on this scale it. Palm oil is extracted mainly in plantations, was cleared for their plant rainforest. Thus, the habitat of the orangutan and other animals disappear,de.

The Group for a long time turned deaf. He even turned off his Facebook page, on which articulate protest. Even as Greenpeace on a big screen in front of the consolidated subsidiary from Frankfurt happening thousands Anti-Kitkat tweets, there was no reaction. From day to day the PR disaster grew.

Yesterday, the food company said its Cooperation with the environmental organization “Forest Trust” With, which has set the fight against the destruction of the rainforest to the destination. Bei einem Forum in Kuala Lumpur, the capital of the country Malaysia, the company announced an action plan. Future Nestlé will forgo palm oil, for producing the rainforest was destroyed. “We assure, that we by the year 2015 only palm oil from sustainable sources will use”, said the vice president of the company, José Lopez in Kuala Lumpur. By the end of this year are already 50 submitted percent of the raw material from controlled sources.

Finally, Nestlé moved in the right direction. This is a sensational success for many people, who participated in the protests on the Internet”, commented Corinna Hölzel, the forest expert with Greenpeace, the campaign.

(Those: www.welt.de)

Christian Junius

Die Macht des Social Web

Die Macht des Social Web

Eine in dieser Größe beispiellose Kampagne der Umweltschutzorganisation Greenpeace zeigt, welchen politischen und wirtschaftlichen Einfluss das Soziale Web inzwischen hat und wie weit die Transformation der gewählten Macht zur Macht des Internet fortgeschritten ist. Den Ökoaktivisten gelang es in den vergangenen zwei Monaten, 250 000 Menschen gegen die umstrittene Verwendung von Palmöl in Nestlé-Produkten zu mobilisieren. 1,5 Millionen Internetnutzer klickten auf ein Video, das den Zusammenhang zwischen dem Schokoriegel „Kitkat“ und der Vernichtung von Regenwald aufzeigt. 2000 Verbraucher twitterten ihre Forderungen an den Lebensmittelkonzern. Das hat es in dieser Größenordnung so noch nicht gegeben. Palmöl wird vor allem auf Plantagen gewonnen, für deren Anlage Regenwald gerodet wurde. Damit verschwindet der Lebensraum des Orang Utan und anderer Tiere.

Der Konzern stellte sich lange Zeit taub. Er schaltete sogar seine Facebook-Seite ab, auf der sich Protest artikulierte. Auch als Greenpeace auf einer Großbildleinwand vor der Konzern-Niederlassung ins Frankfurt Tausende Anti-Kitkat-Tweets abspielte, gab es keine Reaktion. Von Tag zu Tag wuchs das PR-Desaster.

Gestern nun teilte der Lebensmittelkonzern seine Kooperation mit der Umweltorganisation „Forest Trust“ mit, die sich den Kampf gegen die Zerstörung des Regenwaldes zum Ziel gesetzt hat. Bei einem Forum in Kuala Lumpur, der Hauptstadt des Landes Malaysia, kündigte das Unternehmen einen Aktionsplan an. Zukünftig will Nestlé auf Palmöl verzichten, für dessen Herstellung Regenwald zerstört wurde. „Wir versichern, dass wir bis zum Jahr 2015 ausschließlich Palmöl aus nachhaltig bewirtschafteten Quellen verwenden werden“, sagte der Vizepräsident des Unternehmens, José Lopez in Kuala Lumpur. Bis Ende dieses Jahres sollen bereits 50 Prozent des Rohstoffs aus kontrollierten Quellen stammen.

Endlich bewegt sich Nestlé in die richtige Richtung. Das ist ein sensationeller Erfolg für die vielen Menschen, die sich an den Protesten im Internet beteiligt haben“, kommentiert Corinna Hölzel, die Wald-Expertin bei Greenpeace, die Kampagne.

(Quelle: www.welt.de)

Wenn Sie einen Schreibfehler im Text finden, bitte informieren Sie mich: markieren Sie die Textstelle und drücken Ctrl+Enter.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: